What is ITIL?

Trainings » ITIL » What is ITIL?

What is ITIL?

Trainings » ITIL » What is ITIL?

What is ITIL? The global industry standard for service management!

ITIL is a producer-independent collection of best practices for service management. Through ITIL, it is possible to significantly improve the efficiency and quality of services and service organisations and thus to deliver the customer an improved or consistent service.

This is made possible by a process-based approach that encompasses everything from the strategy of the service provider and accepting customer requirements to the operation phase and continual improvement. ITIL is considered the global industry standard for service management in all service organisations (such as IT, marketing, HR, after-sales, field and facility management). Today, ITIL is used in commercial and non-commercial organisations all over the world.

ITIL was created in the 80's, and has since developed into the leading framework for the steering, coordination and management of services. It is often considered a synonym for successful service management.

At the beginning, ITIL was a series of over 40 books and consisted of 26 modules. The first large library is also called ITIL Version 1. Over the course of continual improvement and adapting it to current situations in the service environment, the contents of ITIL V1 were modernised between 2000 and 2004 in the form of a big release. The new version ITIL V2 was summed up in eight main books. ITIL V3 was published in early summer 2007 and was revised for a new release in 2011 (Edition 2011). Since then, all ITIL trainings are based on ITIL 2011, in order to teach the participants the latest version.

AXELOS, a joint venture of the British Cabinet Office and Capita PLC, is now, together with different service management institutes and forums, the leading upgrader and developer of ITIL. SERVIEW participates in the development of ITIL and other best practice frameworks as a strategical partner of AXELOS, and integrates the feedback of its participants and the German community into the process.

It is important that ITIL is a guideline that describes what (contents, processes and objectives) should be worked on. However, ITIL does not prescribe how the results should be, because the concrete implementation and design of the processes and services are defined differently by each organisation. In the reference model, ITIL deals with all relevant service processes and thereby makes it possible to build a target-oriented, experience-based, time and cost-optimised service management. The flexibility of ITIL allows it to be adapted to all service organisations, regardless, for example, of their sector, size or legal form.

The introduction of service management according to ITIL supports the transition into a customer and service-oriented organisation. ITIL also takes into account the new and increased requirements regarding services, service processes, organisation and infrastructure.

In order to achieve all this, ITIL has been revised multiple times and adapted to modern requirements. Currently, the ITIL 2011 version looks like this:

The ITIL library consists of three main areas:

  • ITIL Core (core publications)
  • ITIL Complementary Guidance
  • ITIL Web Support Services

The core publications consist of a series of five books that depict a lifecycle model starting at the service strategy and ending in the continual service improvement. The titles and topics are:

Der ITIL Qualifizierungsschema:


The ITIL® qualification scheme includes a credit system. This means that you receive credits for every passed ITIL® exam (one exam per training). When you have gathered 22 credits, you'll be awarded the title of ITIL® Expert. The title of ITIL® Practitioner will be awarded when you have passed the ITIL® Practitioner exam.

(T = Tage / C = Credits)

ITIL Foundation – the introduction

The Foundation is the introduction to the world of service management according to ITIL. The participant will learn the most important contents of ITIL, the interdependencies between the individual phases of the service lifecycle, the processes used and the advantages of the service management practices. The Foundation is the indispensable basis for all further qualifications in the ITIL qualification scheme.

ITIL Expert

In order to become an ITIL Expert, the participant will have to pass the Foundation exam, pass certain trainings and exams of the intermediate level and participate in the concluding course Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) and pass its exam. The MALC course combines the main subject matters of the lifecycle approach with service management and summarises the knowledge acquired in the qualification systems.

ITIL Intermediate – two streams to choose from:

The intermediate level offers two streams to the certification. Both streams include a series of different courses and certificates.

Lifecycle Stream

The focus of each training is on a self-contained service lifecycle phase. The participant will learn the processes, activities, basic principles, critical success factors and aspects relevant to the organisation and needed for the steering and management of each phase. The objective is to build the fundamental know-how needed for understanding all contents of a certain lifecycle phase and for applying them successfully in practice.

Capability Stream

The focus of the trainings is on the process activities, the application and the usage of the service lifecycle. The objective is to give the participant a detailed view of the relevant activities, basic principles and their application.

ITIL Practitioner

The Practitioner is a stage of the ITIL qualification scheme and complements the intermediate streams. This qualification was developed to offer organisations and individuals support in increasing the value added by applying ITIL. It is achieved by communicating and applying additional practical guidelines which enable ITIL users to better adapt ITIL best practices to different framework requirements, and thus support the business of the customer in an ideal manner.

What is ITIL?

Experience in this explanatory video why ITIL is the service management framework for all companies that provide services.

What is ITIL?

In this explanatory video, see why ITIL is the service management framework for all companies providing services.

The ITIL4 qualification scheme
Klick to download